A Testimony

2 February 2010

I came across this article when I was at The Gospel Coalition, a really good website where a coalition (duh!) of Pastors address different issues, from Haiti and Christian relief efforts there to the theology of the Trinity, introducing new books and much more like the following article (which was featured on Associated Press):

Brain cancer tests a young pastor’s faith

Chandler is trying to suffer well. He would never ask for such a trial, but in some ways he welcomes this cancer. He says he feels grateful that God has counted him worthy to endure it. He has always preached that God will bring both joy and suffering but is only recently learning to experience the latter.

Anyway, I thought I would share this article because it’s a real encouragement, and how we need to trust and believe even though most of the time when we are going through trials we don’t understand what is God’s purpose for us. I’m reminded also of James 1:2, that is a matter of WHEN rather than IF we face trials.

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds,
3for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.
4And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

Will we be able to be grateful that God counts us worthy to experience the trial He is going to put us through?

Let’s walk close to the Author and Finisher of our faith. =)

This article also reminds me of one of my recent favourite Christian songs, posted below.

Leave a comment