How Can I Fear

9 August 2009

When shadows fall and the night covers all,
There are things my eyes cannot see.
I’ll never fear, for the Saviour is near;
My Lord abides with me.

Chorus
How can I fear? Jesus is near.
He ever watches over me.
Worries all cease; He gives me peace.
How can I fear with Jesus?

When I’m alone and I face the unknown,
And I fear what the future maybe,
I can depend on the strength of my Friend-
He walks along with me.

Chorus

Jesus is King, He controls everything;
He is with me each night and each day.
I trust my soul to the Saviour’s control;
He drives all fear away.

Lyrics and music by Ron Hamilton

Watch the video on youtube.

I guess this song becomes even more meaningful and real when I found out yesterday of a friend being diagnosed with cancer. I mean, one day he’s fine, and the next, life is never the same anymore. It is in these kind of situations, that our faith is really tested. Can we really not fear, because we know Jesus is near. Because we know He is watching over us.

Keeping you in my prayers. May our faith, strength and confidence be found in the One who is our Creator, God, King, Saviour, Redeemer and Friend.

Leave a comment