Christmas 2008

25 December 2008

I always knew this Christmas was going to be a nice one. The last 2 Christmas’ have been spent as a recruit, and as a commander in Braves Coy. This time round, it is as a civillian. Anyway, it’s also the first time I decided to join carolling. I always had this fear of singing in a “choir” kind of setting, because people’s expectations are always going to be higher, and I know I’m not cut out to be a singer. But, through the practices this year, I think I learnt to be more “thick-skinned” and not be so sensitive or conscious of what other people think, so it was a pretty fun experience. 

So with all the Sunday practices, it culminated in our carolling session yesterday to 3 homes around our church. It was fun going from house to house, singing carols, talking and having food! Hearing the testimonies from some of the members and Pastor’s sharing also helped me to put Christmas into perspective, and remember why we even celebrate this occassion known as Christmas. 

“Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us.”
Matthew 1:23 

So Christmas day was spent with our Combined English/Mandarin service this morning, and it was pretty chaotic because our church sanctuary is too small to fit in everyone today. I was ushering and missed out on the entire service, but I heard Rev. Heng’s sermon was really good. Trust that God will work in the hearts and minds of all who heard the gospel today, and may they know the true meaning of Christmas! 

I came home and slept the entire afternoon away! Was really tired from the lack of sleep and activities over the past 2 days. Had dinner with the family before heading off to Marina Square, my favourite shopping destination! G2000 sale is now on, so I bought another pocket-less long sleeved shirt. Next to Gloria Jean’s for some excellent coffee. Irish Nut Creme and Choc Macademia Nut, niccee! In my opinion, GJ has probably the best coffee I’ve tasted so far. Finally rounded off with a present to myself, another model kit. 

Total damage today: $82. =(

Thou Didst Leave Thy Throne
Thou didst leave Thy throne and Thy kingly crown,
When Thou camest to earth for me;
But in Bethlehem’s home was there found no room
For Thy holy nativity.

O come to my heart, Lord Jesus, There is room in my heart for Thee. 

Heaven’s arhces rang when the angels sang
Proclaiming Thy royal degree;
But of lowly birth didst Thou come to earth,
And in great humility.

 O come to my heart, Lord Jesus, There is room in my heart for Thee. 

Thou camest, O Lord, with the living Word
That should set Thy people free;
But with mocking scorn, and with crown of thorn,
They bore Thee to Calvary.

O come to my heart, Lord Jesus, There is room in my heart for Thee.

When the heavens shall ring, and the angels sing,
At Thy coming to victory,
Let Thy voice call me home,
Saying, “Yet there is room,
There is room at My side for Thee.”

My heart shall rejoice, Lord Jesus, When Thou comest and callest for me.

Words by: Emily Elliott
Music by: Timothy Matthews 

Here’s wishing everyone a Blessed Christmas and enjoy the last few days of 2008. =)

Leave a comment